Sean’s Principles of Design

Balance- Symmetrical

 

Balance – Asymmetrical

 

Emphasis - Contrast or Isolation

Emphasis – Contrast or Isolation

 

Emphasis – Scale or Placement

 

Emphasis – Color

 

Proportion and Scale

 

Pattern and Repetition

 

Contrast – Tonal

 

Contrast-Color

 

Movement and Rhythm

 

Unity-Harmony-Simplicity

 

Unity and Harmony – Proximity

 


1. What strengths and weaknesses do you see in your own work?

Strengths I see in my work is creativity and finding new approaches to take photos. A weaknesses I see in my work is the editing with my adjustments. I continue to improve and work on my mistakes.

2. How might you improve or refine your approach in future photography projects?

I can improve or refine my approach in future photography projects by looking for new angles I can use to change it up a little and see how how the angle impacts the photo.

3. Pick one of your photos, what emotions or messages did you intend to convey through this photograph?

In my simplicity photograph it shows a white line through the big blue sky which I think shows peace and relaxation.

4. Are there specific principles of design you would like to explore further in your photography?

Yes, I would like to explore more into the contrast and emphasis part of photography.

5. What concepts or techniques do you want to experiment with in your next project?

The concept or technique I want to experiment in my next project is how to use lighting and the significance of it and how it can benefit our pictures.

One thought on “Sean’s Principles of Design

  1. I really enjoy the tonal and asymmetrical photos! They are so creative and fun to look at! I think you could do better on your contrast photo, it’s bland and unappealing. The photo of the tree uses SCALE AND PLACEMENT to draw the observer into the tree, and allow them to feel the embrace of nature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *